Kent Hovind

Michael W. Fisher mwfisher@cts.com
Wed, 30 Sep 1998 23:50:35 -0700 (00907242635, 000e01bded07$cac1e2a0$9d495ecc@mwfisher.cts.com)



>From the Name It and Frame It site at
http://training.loyola.edu/cdld/nifi.html , in chapter 12 : PATRIOT UNIVERSITY 6915 Palmer Park Boulevard Colorado Springs, Colorado 80915 (719) 597-7512 Claiming to be a ministry of Hilltop Baptist Church, the college charges between $15 and $32 per credit and offers degrees through the doctoral level. Their catalog contains no information on the school's faculty or their credentials. Patriot claims accreditation by the American Accrediting Association of Theological Institutions (see Chapter 3), an accrediting mill associated with Christian Bible College in Rocky Mount, North Carolina. Advertises or has advertised in Pulpit Helps. * * * And from Chap. 4, about the AAATI : Accreditation mills have only one purpose: to communicate an air of credibility to degree mills. Witness, for example, the claims of the American Accrediting Association of Theological Institutions, Inc., of Rocky Mount, North Carolina, which charges degree mills only a $100.00 application fee and a $75.00 annual renewal fee to gain their "accreditation." The president of A.A.A.T.I. is Cecil Johnson ("D.D., D.R.E., Lit.D., Th.D., Ph.D."), who is also the president of Christian Bible College in Rocky Mount (a degree mill listed in Chapter 12). Johnson proclaims in his association's marketing letter: After your school is accredited by A.A.A.T.I. for anyone who wishes to check on your status please have them call [our number] daily between 10 & 12 noon. We prefer to talk with individual [sic] personally rather than write to them. Please do not give our address to any individual, only other schools who are interested in being accredited. Accreditation is between the school and the association...The basic information we give out is that your school is in good standing with A.A.A.T.I. We do not recommend any school, only lend credibility to those accredited by A.A.A.T.I. Think about the ramifications in Johnson's pitch. They will "lend credibility" to any school that pays their $100.00 application fee, but they will only do so by phone - they won't put it in writing. They don't want their address (which is the same address as Johnson's degree mill) given out to anyone *except* other degree mills seeking their alleged accreditation. In plain words, A.A.A.T.I. is a pure scam. Yet the average person who is unfamiliar with what legitimate accreditation is about seeking a non-traditional program and calls A.A.A.T.I. for a reference on a school he or she is considering will never know the difference. * * * Hope all this helps!! Ciao! Michael Fisher, aka Elfish Chimera, San Diego, California "If you work at that which is before you, following right reason seriously, vigorously, without allowing anything else to distract you, but keeping your divine part pure, as if you were bound to give it back immediately; if you hold to this, expecting nothing, but satisfied to live now according to nature, speaking heroic truth in every word which you utter, you will live happy. And there is no man able to prevent this." --Marcus Aurelius, Roman Emperor and Stoic, from his MEDITATIONS, III, 12.--- -----Original Message----- From: owner-errancy@infidels.org [mailto:owner-errancy@infidels.org] On Behalf Of Farrell Till Sent: Wednesday, September 30, 1998 11:28 PM To: errancy@infidels.org Subject: Kent Hovind TILL I have been asked to debate the "creation scientist" Kent Hovind via telephone hook-up over station WJBC-AM in Bloomington, Illinois, on October 2nd at 10:00 A.M. This station is located at 1230 on the A. M. dial. I have been looking for a posting I saved of a web site that exposes the phony degrees of some creation "scientists," but I can't locate it. I recall finding Kent Hovind on this list when I went through it a few weeks ago. Does anyone know what this site is? I'd like to review it before the radio program Friday. Farrell Till Skepticism, Inc. jftill@midwest.net